The Liebster Award

Thanks to ajoobacats for the Liebster Award nomination (awarded when the blog was called whattoreadnow).  Your comments really sum up the best things about blogging, so I’ll defer to those, which you’ll find here:

ajoobacats – The Liebster Award

Here are the questions and answers:

1. What’s your favourite genre?

I don’t really have a favourite genre.  In fact some genre books can be predictable, and so I tend to avoid them.

2. How do you keep track of which books you’ve read?

I write this blog. That way I never have to read a bad book twice.

3. Do you re-read books? Why?

I try not to, though sometimes I re-read books that I first read years ago – such as The Little World of Don Camillo, or Tom Jones.  They’re both comedies so that’s probably the reason.  When I was young I would continually re-read my favourites.

4. What’s your favourite film based on a book?

Hard question.  Off the top of my head, recently I enjoyed The Lady in the Van, though that’s a play script, so perhaps it doesn’t count.  Once I would have said The Graduate – I think the film’s better than the book, which is unusual.  Also Empire of the Sun – though I’ve only skimmed the book – it’s a great film.  Of films when I’ve also read the book – To Kill a Mockingbird.

5. What do you think of negative book reviews?

I try hard not to write them.

6. What are your views on ereaders?

Do you mean Kindle?  I have one, and use it, though I prefer the feel and look of books.

7. Do you listen to audiobooks?

Rarely. Radio 4 Book at Bedtime is on most nights, but often I don’t get to the end.

8. What was your favourite book before you reached your teens?

Winnie the Pooh – definitely.

9. What do you do with your old books?

I keep some and recycle others.

10. Are you part of a book club?

Sort of.  We have a men’s bookclub at church.  The idea of a men’s bookclub was controversial in itself. I go to a church where male pronouns have been scribbled out of old service books and replaced with various gender neutral alternatives.  Of course the newly printed service versions are already politically correct.

Male only membership does tend to affect the choice of reading matter, and not always in a way I like.  The bookclub is unusual in that we all read different books and tell each other about them, rather than all sharing and discussing the same book.  I’m not sure what I think about that.

11. How do you feel about book spoilers?

I’m not sure what they are, but if they spoil books they must be a bad idea.

screenshot_2016-01-22-21-27-14_kindlephoto-8087035

My 11 questions:

  1. Why do you blog?
  2. Is it important for you that other people read your blog?
  3. When and how often do you post?
  4. Do you think it’s best to pay or get free hosting?
  5. What advice would you give about WordPress and other themes, and how to use them?
  6. What do you think of Goodreads?
  7. What three books would you take with you if you were on duty at an Antarctic research station for a long dark winter?
  8. What other interests take up your free time?
  9. Beach or mountains – which would you choose?
  10. Why?
  11. Which other blogs do you write – apart from the one nominated here?

 

Nominated blogs:

Bookish – nice title, great reviews

That’s What She Read – I love the poems you choose.

Magini Books – how do you read so many books?

A Little Blog of Books – I like your book choices – very discerning.

Book Guy Review – Again – great book choices.

A Wondrous Bookshelf – very neat and tidy reviews – concise – I like that.

The Habanero of Texas – because I didn’t know Texas did satire.

General Caviar – nicely laid out and some thought provoking titles in this reading blog

Madame Bibi Lophile Recommends – again, interesting book choices

Read and Survive – 5 great tips about each book – and the Helsinki Bloggers Fair!!

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Thank you very much for the nomination 🙂
    And I don’t think I read that many books, I personally know people who read much more and the other bloggers… they seem to absorb books not read them 😉

Leave a Reply

